14:14 ROUGH, TOUGH CHARLEY

14:14 Picture Book Challenge by Christie Wright Wild.

untitled (22)TITLE: ROUGH, TOUGH CHARLEY

Author: Verla Kay
Illustrator: Adam Gustavson
Publisher: Tricycle Press
Year:2007
Word Count: 955-words
Type: Nonfiction

Summary: Nonfiction, written in rhyme, chronicles the life of Charley Parkhurst who ran away from an orphanage. He worked hard all his life and even owned his own business. He voted in elections, shot a bandit who tried to rob his stage-coach, and saved passengers after a bridge broke while he was crossing the Tuolumne River. After he died, everyone learned Charley’s secret – CHARLEY WAS A WOMAN ALL ALONG!! Go figure.

This book is perfect to explore the ELEMENT #9 ~ RHYME.
“Them’s me beauties
they go fast
How I loves ’em—
DRAT IT! BLAST!”

…”Six-horse stagecoach
Bounds along
Charley reins up
Flicks a thong”

Personal Thought: This is a great book. I am a sucker for rhyming text. I love the rhythm and flow of the words. So this was not hard for me. What I admired most, was the historical relevance of this piece. I have never heard of this woman before. I loved this book. It was amazing.

Leave a comment