S IS FOR SETTING

S IS FOR SETTING.

imagesIJYOX4XPFor me to understand a story I would like for the author to draw me into the setting. This means when and where the story takes place. Include me in the text, show me the sights. Let me hear the sounds. Let me feel the atmosphere. What is the aroma that is permeating the air? What is that I am tasting as the author describes the food of that region? Clue me into my surroundings. For instance:

images4WHSXB9FAbby opened the door and sashayed towards room 209. Her teacher, Mrs. Wellington, stood at the chalkboard scribbling the day’s work. Abby unpacked her book bag. Math book? Check. Pencil? Check. Notebook? Abby dug deeper.
“Oh no!” said Abby. She raised her hand. She snapped her finger. Mrs. Wellington turned around.
“May I run to my locker?” asked Abby.
“Hurry up,” said Mrs. Wellington. “The tardy bell will ring in five minutes.”

There is enough clue in this to tell us what the setting is – teacher, chalkboard, math book, pencils, notebook, locker, and tardy bell. These clues suggested that the setting is at a school. imagesEL2YO24V

I did not have to say it was a school. The clues were enough for the reader to draw his or her conclusions. When writing, make the setting as exciting as possible. And remember imagesIJYOX4XP

2 Comments

  1. That’s a great example, because all of the elements were worked into the narrative. I find it very frustrating when authors unnecessarily describe every detail in a room. Experienced writers only include details that have some relevance to the story.

Leave a Reply

