14:14 ABE’S HONEST WORDS

14:14 Picture Book Challenge Christie Wright Wild

untitled (76)

untitled (75)Title: ABE’S HONEST WORDS
Author: Doreen Rappaport
Illustrator: Kadir Nelson
Publisher: Hyperion Books
Year:2008
Word Count: 1367-words
Type: Non-Fiction

Summary: This book is an illustrated biography of Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United States and the man responsible for seeing the country through the Civil War.

“If slavery is not wrong, nothing is wrong. I cannot remember when I did not so think, and feel so.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

I have always believe in the power of books. And it seem like I am not the only one who believes this. So did Abraham Lincoln. He wrote :”The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.”

In ABE’S HONEST WORDS :The life of Abraham Lincoln, the book uses not just information created by the author, but it actually has Abe’s writings included. This is what makes this book stand out from the rest on the shelves about our 16th president.

On the first page, his writing reads : “Abraham Lincoln is my name, and with my pen I wrote the same. I wrote in both haste and speed and left in here for fools to read.”

This sentence shows our president’s humorous side. But humor was short lived. Abe wrote about things – good and bad – that he saw. There is a place in the book where he wrote about a “hideous sight shattered his joy. Twelve Negroes, chained six and six together. Strung together like so many fish upon a trotline, being separated forever from their childhood, their friends, their father and mothers, and brothers and sisters, from their wives and children, into perpetual slavery.

When asked, Abe said, “Upon the subject of education, I view it as the most important subject which we as a people can be engaged in.”

The book chronicles the times he ran for office. He lost the first election, but won the other three.

His goal was to get rid of slavery. Abolish it. He spoke about it over and over again; time and time again. He reminded people that when the founders of America created the Declaration of Independence, slavery did not fit with its ideals. “As a nation, we began to declare that ‘all men are created equal.’ We now practically read it ‘all men are created equal, except Negroes.'”

The Northerners were concerned about Lincoln becoming president. They felt that he lacked “experience”. They said, “He’s too backwoods. He’s unpresidential. He tells too many silly jokes. And he’s had too little experience in Government.”

But he convinced America why the slaves should be free. “In giving freedom to the slave, we assure freedom to the free.”

And so in signing the Emancipation Proclamation, he states, “I never, in my life, felt more certain that I was doing right, than I do in signing this paper. My whole soul is in it.”

And after all this, most white lawmakers did not want this. Abe summoned them to the White House and said, “The moment came when I felt that slavery must die that the nation might live!”
AND THEY BELIEVED HIM!!!

I close this post with these words from our 16th president, Abraham Lincoln, “Resolve to be honest to all events and if you cannot be an honest lawyer, resolve to be honest without being a lawyer. Choose some other occupation.”

I love this book. I explored the element of Dialogue and Pattern. I know I already reviewed a book about Abraham Lincoln, but two books about the same man written differently. I enjoyed them both.

untitled (78)

untitled (78)

untitled (77)

images (26)

images (27)

images (28)

images (29)

2 Comments

  1. Great post, Jackie! I always knew that Lincoln was an important historical figure, but this book really seems to emphasize the wonderful things that he did, which makes it a super book for kids and adults. I’m so glad you chose to review nonfiction picture books during PB 14:14. You’ve opened my eyes to a whole new world. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

