START YOUR YEAR OFF WRITE, 2014

As you may know, I am always looking for a challenge, so this one was right up my alley. In November 2013, I embarked upon a journey. I signed up for PiBoIdMo with Tara Lazar. I did come up with more than the 30 ideas I needed to complete the challenge. In December, I spent time writing manuscripts from some of those ideas. In January, I joined Meg Miller’s ReviMo (Revision Month). All week, I have been revising some of the manuscripts I created in December. That has been a blast. Real Talk!

I also am participating in Shannon Abercrombie’s START THE YEAR OFF WRITE. This morning’s post is by Kristen McGill Fulton, a nonfiction writer of picture books. I enjoyed this post and decided to take the challenge. I am a huge ABC Fan. I used it in the classroom to introduce a new lesson. I use it to trigger prior knowledge in my students. Here is the information. I have been working on nonfiction picture books all week. I have been writing and revising two of them. So this post is close to my heart. My next plan was to work on a Math non fiction book so this will be part of my outline.

“Prompt # 14: Write the alphabet on a piece of paper and next to each letter write something that comes to mind. Try not to over analyze your choices. Go with what comes to mind first. If you write nonfiction like me, think of nonfiction words like A – Astronauts, B – Baghdad, C – Chernobyl. If you write fiction, think of trigger words like A – acrobat, B – birthday bonanza, C – chocolate. Now, look at your list, you have 26 prompts that may lead you to your next story. Pick 1 letter/word from your list and write 2 paragraphs about it. Maybe chocolate will lead you to discover that your narrator hates it (the horror!!). Maybe you will discover a topic you are really interested in and want to spend some time researching.”

So here goes…ABC CHART…A ~ Angles. B ~ Bar Graph. C ~ Composite Numbers. D ~ Divisibility Chart. E ~ Exponents. F ~ Fractions. G ~ Geometry. H ~ Histogram. I ~ Irrational Numbers. J ~ Joint Variation. K ~ Kite. L ~ Least Common Multiple & Least Common Denominator. M ~ Mean, Median, & Mode. N ~ Negative Numbers, Natural Numbers, and Numeration. O ~ Order of Operation (PEMDAS). P ~ Prime Numbers, Properties, & probability. Q ~ Quadrants, Quadrilateral, & Quotients. R ~ Rational & Real Numbers. S ~ Statistics & Square Roots. T ~ Theorems and Triangles. U ~ Union (as related to sets). V ~ Variable, Volume, and Vertices. W ~ Whole Numbers. X ~ X-axis & X-intercept. Y ~ Y-axis & Y-intercept. Z ~ Zero.

I will now work on the two paragraphs. I doubt I will post it here. However, I am willing to do anything that will keep my writing. Thanks, Kristen.

2 Comments

  1. Jackie, this is a fantastic list! I really think you have a picture book for older students here! No one else (that I can think of) has done this. You can explain each concept in simple terms to help the struggling math student or to help a teacher introduce a particular concept. Bonus: You have words for Q and XYZ which are difficult at worst, and a stretch at best, in most picture books! 🙂 So, so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

