Kathy Temean, “January First Page Picture Prompt Critique Contest”

piboidmo2013-header-720x1801

Kathy Temean January Illustrations Prompt

So I was on FB the other day when a writer mentioned Kathy  Temean January 2014 Picture Prompt Critique Contest. I was intrigued and decided to check it out. Here is the information as supplied by Kathy Temean.

Send in a First Page: Please attach your double spaced, 12 point font, 23 line first page to an e-mail and send it to kathy(dot)temean(at)gmail(dot)com. Also cut and paste it into the body of the e-mail.

Put “January First Page Critique” or “January First Page Picture Prompt Critique” in the subject line. Make sure you have your name on the submission, a title, and indicate the genre.

You can only send in one first page each month. It can be the same first page each time or a different one. It can be a first page from a work in process or you can use the picture prompt to inspire a first page.

Please include your name, the title of the piece, and whether it is a picture book, middle grade, or young adult, etc. at the top.

Everyone who submits a first page gets their name put on a slip and placed in a basket and then I pull out four names

The deadline is January 23rd and the four winners will have their first page critique posted on Friday January 31st.

I think I have included everything, but feel free if to ask another question if I missed something.

Kathy

Also, there was an illustration posted. You, the writer, could use the illustration as a motivator. Of course, that was my choice. The illustration was amazing! It spelled picture book. I immediately wrote a piece. Sent it off to 2 critique buddies to look over. And I emailed it. Too bad, you can only enter once because I was able to generate three ideas from that one illustration. Thanks for the quick reply Ms. Temean. I hope this will not be the last time I hear from you. 😀

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

