SHOW, DON’T TELL

On this picture book journey, I am learning the craft of writing books for children. I am constantly being told, “Show, don’t tell!” But since I am visual, I never knew what it meant until I researched, researched, research.  So here is what I learned.

Think of telling as being scolded. No one wants to be told what to do – scolding. Children need to be able to vision what you are trying to say.

For example, this is TELLING : Cindy was happy.

This is SHOWING: Cindy’s eyes opened wide and a huge smile stretched across her face.

Now the reader can vision what happen and draw his own conclusion.

If I wanted to say: Martha was not happy.

I could show this by writing:

1.  Martha slouched in the chair crossing her arms.

2. Martha turned away with pouted lips and head bowed low.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

