ROUGH, TOUGH CHARLEY

untitled (22)

TITLE:  ROUGH, TOUGH CHARLEY

Author: Verla Kay

Word Count: 955-words

Type: Nonfiction

Summary:  Nonfiction, written in rhyme,  chronicles the life of Charley Parkhurst who ran away from an orphanage. He worked hard all his life and even owned his own business. He voted in elections, shot a bandit who tried to rob his stage-coach, and saved passengers after a bridge broke while he was crossing the Tuolumne River. After he died, everyone learned Charley’s secret – CHARLEY WAS A WOMAN ALL ALONG!! Go figure. 

Personal Thought: This is one of the best books I have read all year. I am a sucker for rhyming text. I love the rhythm and flow of  the words. So this was not hard for me. What I admired most, was the historical relevance of this piece. I have never heard of this woman before. I loved this book. It was amazing. 5 STARS – 7559896_orig

 

How to Use This Book in the Classroom?

History at all levels. From elementary to high school. This book will not disappoint.  Wonderful Read!!

 

untitled (25) untitled (24) untitled (23) untitled (21) imagesCAYOV0I1

 

Leave a Reply

