#31in31 Picture Book Challenge

Since October 1st, 2013, I’ve participated in #31in31 Picture Book Challenge sponsored by Kathy Ellen Davis.  The challenge is to read 31 books in 31 days then share the book titles, authors/illustrator, and personal thoughts on the books.  This challenge opened my eyes to the world of writing for children especially picture books.  The days of Dr. Seuss (the singy-songy rhyme) is not gone but placed on the back burners in our homes. Newly “rhymologists” (I made that word up, and I like it A LOT) – Verla Kay, Anna Dewdney, and Tanya Lee Stone – brought something different to the game and I appreciate it.

I cannot claim that I am a rhymologist by a long shot. The truth is, I don’t write in rhyme. It is not because I don’t like it: it is simple as I am not good at it.  I love rhyme and rhythm – I am a fan of old school rap, Sesame Street, Reading Rainbow, and Michael Jackson’s “ABC”. But what I can appreciate is there are ways to do it and these authors have mastered it very well.  Since this is a newly created blog inspired by Sally Apokedak http://sally-apokedak.com/2013/10/11/blogging-focus/ , I will be blogging about all the books I have read and word counts associated with them. I have commented on more than 25 books. You may check out the challenges and read what other writers have read and posted here http://kathyellendavis.com/2013/10/

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

